Specialty Crops Program

The AMS Specialty Crops Program helps buyers and sellers of all sizes in the U.S. produce industry to market their perishable products in the most efficient manner. We partner with State agencies and other industry organizations for the benefit of nationwide growers, shippers, brokers, receivers, processors, retailers and restaurants, direct to consumer sales, and the foodservice industry.

The program offers a wide array of services that span from helping market the quality of products to ensuring that there is fair trade in the produce industry. The program also helps specialty crops  growers and handlers to combine their resources to help their respective industries overcome marketing barriers.

Specialty Crops Program Newsletter

Contact Information

Specialty Crops Program Org Chart

Specialty Crops Program
USDA, Agricultural Marketing Service
1400 Independence Avenue SW
Room 2077-South, Stop 0235
Washington, D.C. 20250-0235

Deputy Administrator
Sonia Jimenez
E-mail: Sonia.Jimenez@usda.gov
Phone: (202) 720-4722
FAX: (202) 720-0016

Associate Deputy Administrators
Charles Stephens 
E-mail: CharlesD.Stephens@usda.gov
Phone: (202) 720-6394
FAX: (202) 720-0016

Lorenzo A. Tribbett
E-mail: Lorenzo.Tribbet@usda.gov
Phone: (202) 720-5870
FAX: (202) 720-0393

Market News Division
Terry Long, Director
E-mail: Terry.Long@usda.gov
Phone: (202) 720-2175
FAX: (202) 720-0547

Marketing Order and Agreement Division
Dr. Patty Bennett, Director
E-mail: Patty.Bennett@usda.gov
Phone (202)-720-2491
FAX: (202) 720-8938

Promotion and Economics Division
Heather M. Pichelman, Director
E-mail:  heather.pichelman@usda.gov
Phone: (202) 690-1172
FAX: (202) 205-2800

Specialty Crops Inspection Division (Full Contact List)

Nathaniel (Chip) Taylor, Director
nathaniel.taylor@usda.gov
Phone: (202) 720-5870
FAX: (202) 720-0393